Even though a good percentage of North Carolina residents are not opposed to legalizing marijuana for medical and/or recreational purposes, the state has yet to make modifications to its current laws, which largely prohibit the use of marijuana within state borders. Here is an overview of the current laws concerning the possession and distribution of marijuana in North Carolina.

How Much Marijuana Can You Carry With You in North Carolina?

North Carolina has not yet legalized the use of marijuana for medical or recreational purposes, and until recently, anyone found with any amount of cannabis would face harsh penalties and potential jail time. A push to decriminalize marijuana use resulted in an update that downgraded the possession of under half an ounce of cannabis to a misdemeanor rather than a felony.

This means that if you are found to have just under half an ounce of marijuana, you may still end up with a criminal charge. However, instead of facing potential jail time, you may be required to pay a fine and may have a misdemeanor charge on your record. Any amount over 0.5 ounces may still be considered a felony with harsh sentences and potential jail time.

Is Selling Marijuana Considered a Felony in North Carolina?

Selling marijuana for any purpose is still illegal in North Carolina. The penalties associated with the crime of marijuana distribution vary depending on how many pounds of marijuana was intended for distribution.

For example, distribution of 10 to 50 pounds of cannabis may be considered a Class H Felony with potential jail time and fines of up to $5000. Distribution or sale of over 10,000 pounds of marijuana is a Class D felony, which may result in the payment of a fine of up to $200,000.00 and a maximum prison sentence of 219 months.

Can You Plant Marijuana for Personal Consumption in North Carolina?

Planting or growing cannabis plants for personal use or commercial purposes is still illegal in North Carolina. Those found to have cannabis plants may face criminal charges and potentially harsh sentences. The only cannabis substance allowed in the state under certain strict circumstances is CBD oil for use by epilepsy patients.

Being charged with possession or distribution of marijuana does not automatically mean you will be convicted, but taking immediate action is essential to help you protect your rights. If you have been charged, contact a cannabis criminal defense law firm such as Davis Legal, PLLC right away. We will work with you to help you secure a positive outcome for your case. Call today at 919-756-6437.